LiMPETS- Field Trip Fun!!

Screen Shot 2015-04-23 at 8.36.06 PM2015-04-22 08.39.25Screen Shot 2015-04-23 at 10.17.46 PM

On Wednesday my AP bio class and I went to the FitzGerald Marine reserve in Half Moon Bay. My class began by exploring the site. We were able to walk around and see so many different species. It was so fascinating to be up close and able to touch everything!

I learned so much from the trip. I learned about the different sea anemones and how to differentiate them using senses. The aggregating anemone, sunburst, and giant green were the three we observed. From size to color and texture by the end I was easily able to tell the difference.

2015-04-22 08.38.532015-04-22 08.40.02

We also learned to identify turban snails and whelks. The shape of the shells also helped us identify. We had to touch and pick up the turban snails to make sure they did not start moving meaning it was actually a hermit crab. Lastly, we also learned about the ochre sea star. The sea star doesn’t have blood flowing through the body so it actually uses water meaning it cannot be out of water for long. My class actually got lucky enough and saw one of the sea star. (pic) I learned so much about the different organisms and quickly learned how to identify them.

In class we just finished the life-organized unit. We learned about many of these organisms and how they fit into certain phyla and classes. For example from class I could identify that the sea star was in the phylum echinoderms. This is because if it’s radial symmetry and several arms, which are just two features that put it in that phylum. I was also able to identify characteristics of many other organisms, which is cool to put what I learned to use! I also applied the idea of adaptation and survival of the fittest to the field trip. All these creatures in the tide pools need to be able to survive in and out of water for a long period of time. They go for hour spans in different environments and must be fit to live in both. Some of these animals may have had to adapt in order to do so. This is such a harsh environment that they have to live in and we learned that some animals are slowly decreasing in number, linked to survival of the fittest. Those organisms that are fit to live in this harsh environment are still flourishing and reproducing.

IMG_2166

This field trip really was a great experience and a lot of fun! I really enjoyed looking at the organism up close. It is so cool to see them in real life and actually be able to touch them. Out of everything my favorite part was being able to explore. I thought it was so cool just to walk around and take in everything. This is something that I wont forget. It was also funny to see all my classmates (myself included) trying not to slip on all the tar. I enjoyed being able to be a part of this educational experience that was also service learning. It feels great to get something out of the trip! If I were to do this again or give advice to others I would definitely tell them to go in with a positive attitude. Yes, it is cold and yes you will get wet, but do not let it affect how you take in the creatures around you. This field was definitely worthwhile and one of my favorites!!

2015-04-22 08.25.51

Check out the website for LiMPETS and FitzGerald Marine Reserve!!

Disclaimer: All pictures and video taken by either Mrs. Girard or myself.

3 thoughts on “LiMPETS- Field Trip Fun!!

  1. Shauna,
    I love getting a chance to read through all these blog posts. They remind me how much fun we had. I was impressed that no one fell. There was so much tar spot algae! I also enjoy hearing about your experience and the impact the trip made on you. Your post is so informative with great connections to content learned in class and in the field. This is my favorite trip. I get excited every year since I never know what we will see!

    Like

Leave a comment